Sid Meier’s Civilization: Release Timelines

Sid Meier’s Civilization series is a landmark in the world of strategy games, known for its deep, complex gameplay and the ability for players to create and lead a civilization from the ancient times into the future.

Developed by legendary game designer Sid Meier, the series began in 1991 and has since evolved, encompassing several main titles and various expansions, spin-offs, and related games. Each installment offers a unique blend of turn-based strategy, exploration, and nation-building, captivating players with its blend of historical and speculative fiction. This series has not only shaped the strategy game genre but also has left a lasting impact on the broader world of video games.

Here is a comprehensive list of the main titles in the “Sid Meier’s Civilization” series along with their initial release dates:

Box ArtGame TitleRelease DateExpansion Packs and Notes
CivilizationSeptember 1991CivNet (1995), a version with multiplayer gameplay and a map editor, released by MicroProse.
Civilization IIFebruary 1996Civilization II: Conflicts in Civilization (1996)
Civilization II: Fantastic Worlds (1997)
Civilization II: Multiplayer Gold Edition (1997) Civilization II: Test of Time (1999)
Civilization IIIOctober 2001Civilization III: Play the World (2002)
Civilization III: Conquests (2003)
Civilization III: Gold Edition and Complete includes the original game and expansions.
Civ4 Box ArtCivilization IVOctober 2005Civilization IV: Warlords (2006)
Civilization IV: Beyond the Sword (2007)
Civilization IV: Gold Edition and Complete includes the original game and expansions.
Civilization RevolutionJune 2008
Civilization VSeptember 2010Civilization V: Gods & Kings (2012)
Civilization V: Brave New World (2013)
Civilization V: Game of the Year, Gold, and The Complete Edition includes the original game, expansion packs, and all DLC.
Civilization Revolution 2July 2014
Civilization: Beyond EarthOctober 2014
Civilization VIOctober 2016Civilization VI: Rise and Fall (2018)
Civilization VI: Gathering Storm (2019)

Additional DLC:
New Frontier Pass (May 2020)
Leader Pass (November 2022 – March 2023)

These dates mark the initial release of each main title in the series. Over the years, each game has been expanded with numerous additional content packs, spin-offs, and other related games, each adding new dimensions and content to the Civilization universe.